RSS

What is a ‘writer’?

27 Dec

Am I a ‘writer’? I don’t think so, or I don’t think many people would consider me to be one, but I have certainly written millions of words in my lifetime. I’m leaving aside personal letters (and, over the past 20 years or so, emails), reports and the like, which would account for many, many thousands of words. For around 10 years I wrote no less than 5,000 words a week, so a total of 2.5 million words would be a very conservative estimate during this time alone. In the remaining 40 or so years of my adult life I’ve probably averaged a weekly writing output of about a fifth of this, so around another 2 million in all. Let’s say around 5 million words in total. You might gather that I like to write. Does this make me a ‘writer’?

Grumpytyke

Several of the blogs I follow add the strapline ‘author’, or mention that this is what they are in the ‘About’. I think I understand what this means.
 
However, some add ‘writer’ as a strap line or describe themselves as this. I’m not sure I understand what this means (I know the dictionary definitions of course).
 
Am I a ‘writer’? I don’t think so, or I don’t think many people would consider me to be one, but I have certainly written millions of words in my lifetime. I’m leaving aside personal letters (and, over the past 20 years or so, emails), reports and the like, which would account for many, many thousands of words. For around 10 years I wrote no less than 5,000 words a week, so a total of 2.5 million words would be a very conservative estimate during this time alone. In the remaining 40…

View original post 665 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 27, 2012 in short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “What is a ‘writer’?

  1. jaysquires

    December 30, 2012 at 3:44 am

    I always think of Honore de Balzac, the magni-prolific French novelist, who was so convinced that what separated the mediocre from the great artist was the sheer volume of his writing, that he was known to weigh his daily output, rather than add the words or pages together. Now that’s dedication. No less dedication, though, than yours to write 5,000 words a week for over 10 years. Yes, yes, my friend, that makes you a writer in my book! I’ll let the world decide the greatness — but I’ll give this much, you wouldn’t have written so prolifically if you didn’t love the process, and in your heart of hearts, isn’t that all the greatness you need? Write on!

     

Leave a Reply

 
